Broken and Sinful People

I love broken people. I love those who find themselves in seemingly no-way-out circumstances of darkness and despair, even though they were full of hope just the day before. I love those who fall, fail, and stumble even though they know better- and hate themselves for it. I love those who are overtaken by sorrow, even though they can’t quite put a finger on why they feel such a way. I love broken people. I am a broken person.

I love sinful people. I love people who are so sinful in their hearts that they fear great embarrassment and shame if their shameful sins ever “get out.” I love those who want to hate their sin, then give in even further to that great residue of indwelling sin. I love those who become calloused in their sin-only later to realize their callousness and repent. I love those who repent, yet fall again. I love sinful people. I am a sinful person.

I love Jesus. I love His gospel. I love His peace. I love His assurance. Despite my brokenness and sinfulness, His gospel is a testimony to His grace….His grace extended to those who are broken, sinful, and despair greatly to be free….realizing they may do nothing to save themselves.

Sinful men like David who, even as a “strong” Christian, coveted and lusted after his neighbor’s wife. Who then engaged in lies and cover-up to save face, thinking he could evade the all-seeing eye of the Almighty. Who then committed murder of a man who was one of his most faithful servants. If this wasn’t the height of sinfulness and callousness, I ask you brothers, what is?

Sinful men like Peter, who was in Christ’s inner circle. Who, by God’s revelation, knew and confessed Jesus as “the Christ, the Son of the Living God.” Who boldly, loudly, and confidently proclaimed his unfettered loyalty to Christ to the end– so much so that he took up sword against those who tried to arrest Jesus. And yet, despite all this “progress”, he denied the Lord, and cursed in such context.

Sinful men like Josh, who was converted at the young age of nine. Who, by God’s graciousness, has been passed through untold sufferings, knowing his perseverance was all due to God’s good pleasure. Who boldly, loudly, and confidently confesses his love for the Lord and His Word. And yet, despite the remembrance of all that God has done in his life, who treads lightly on the commands of the Lord and presumes upon the very grace of God that saved Him.

I’m glad God loves broken and sinful people.

Here am I, Lord, broken and sinful.

3 thoughts on “Broken and Sinful People

  1. This is exactly where God wants us to be… broken that is.

    “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
    Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted,” (Matthew 5:3-4, ESV).

    Spiritual brokeness leads to a godly sorrow which leads to repentance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

